The PRIO Directors, charged with the responsibility of shortlisting the nominees for Nobel Peace Prize have shortlisted Nigeria’s former Minister of Education and former Vice President of the World Bank, Mrs Oby Ezekwesili for the award.

Based on independent assessments, PRIO Directors have offered their personal shortlists for the Nobel Peace Prize every year since 2002. Current Director is Henrik Urdal.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee   bases its decision on valid nominations received by the 31 January deadline.  Anyone can be nominated (and history indeed shows a few rather dubious nominees, including Hitler), but only a number of people have the right to nominate  , including members of national assemblies and governments, current and former members of the Committee, Peace Prize laureates, professors of certain disciplines, directors of peace research and foreign policy institutes, and members of international courts. The five committee members have until their first meeting after the deadline to add nominations of their own. The Director of PRIO holds the right to nominate, but refrains, given his active role as a commentator. He has no form of association with the Nobel Institute or the Norwegian Nobel Committee. Read more here.

The laureate will be announced, as per usual, on the Friday of the first full week of October.

Henrik Urdal’s 2018 Nobel Peace Prize Shortlist

  1. World Food Programme
  2. Dr. Denis Mukwege, Nadia Murad & Tarana Burke
  3. SOS Méditerranée, Doctors Without Borders & International Rescue Committee
  4. Oby Ezekwesili & The Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative
  5. Reporters Without Borders

Leave a Reply